Eddyville Primary Set for Oct. 10

Seven members of the Eddyville community are seeking one of two spots on the Eddyville City Council. The field will be narrowed to four following a special election to be held on Oct. 10.

Current councilors Dot Maudlin and Wendell Terrell have challenges from Nick Batterson, Jim Durst, Brent Michael Jackson, Laura Johnston, and Travis Strunk. The four top vote getters will square off in the Nov. 7 General Election. The candidates are seeking a four-year term that will end Dec. 31, 2021.

There are a number of contested races throughout the county for the November election, but only Eddyville will have a preliminary runoff. All cities will be voting four councilors and in some cases a mayor.

Read the full story in the October 5 edition.